ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

The Cars – You Might Think

The Cars – You Might Think

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    Sold out
    Unit price
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Mar 06 and Mar 10. *ETA to USA Only

    You Might Think is a 7" single by the American rock band The Cars, released in 1984. The song was one of the band's biggest hits and a standout track from their album "Heartbeat City." 

    The A-side, "You Might Think," is an infectious and quirky new wave pop-rock song, showcasing lead vocalist Ric Ocasek's distinctive vocals and the band's trademark synth-driven sound. The track gained widespread popularity for its catchy melody and imaginative music video, which featured pioneering computer-generated imagery (CGI) effects. 

    The B-side of the single is "Heartbeat City," the title track from The Cars' album. The song is another fine example of the band's skillful blend of rock and new wave elements, featuring captivating hooks and Ocasek's emotive vocals.

    "You Might Think" reached No. 7 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, becoming one of The Cars' highest-charting singles.


    A You Might Think 3:04
    B Heartbeat City 4:31


    Label: Elektra – 7-69744
    Format: Vinyl, 7", 45 RPM, Single
    Country: US
    Genre: Electronic, Rock, Pop
    Style: Pop Rock, Synth-pop

    Barcode and Other Identifiers

    • Rights Society: ASCAP
    • Matrix / Runout (Side A Label): ST-E-69744-A-SP
    • Matrix / Runout (Side B Label): ST-E-69744-B-SP
    • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout, variant 1): SRC ST-E-69744-A-6 1-2 STERLING
    • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout, variant 1): SRC 1-1 ST-E-69744-B-6 STERLING
    • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout, variant 2): SRC ST-E-69744-A-6 1-1 STERLING
    • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout, variant 2): SRC 1-1 ST-E-69744-B-6 STERLING
    • Pressing Plant ID (Labels): SP
    • Manufactured By  Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records
    • Record Company  Warner Communications Inc.
    • Published By  Ric Ocasek
    • Published By  Lido Music, Inc.
    • Mastered At  Sterling Sound
    • Pressed By  Specialty Records Corporation

    Data provided by Discogs