ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

Timco – Friction Tape

Timco – Friction Tape

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    $14.99 You save 47%
    Unit price
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Mar 05 and Mar 09. *ETA to USA Only

    Friction Tape the debut album by Timco, showcases the unmistakable influence of guitarist Kevin Thomson, formerly of Nice Strong Arm. Following the dissolution of Nice Strong Arm, Thomson, an Austin native, made his way from New York to San Francisco, where he immersed himself in the music scene, collaborating with artists like Red House Painters and American Music Club. With Mark Eitzel from American Music Club assisting in production, the album was recorded live in a club setting, capturing the raw energy of Timco's performances.

    The album's eight songs blend the raw energy of Nice Strong Arm with the measured reserve of Thomson's new collaborators, resulting in lyrically introspective tracks characterized by melancholic melodies and explosive instrumentation. Tracks like "July" merge meditative, aching melodies with propulsive rhythms, while energetic, emotional solos from Thomson elevate songs like "Bastard" and "Screw You" from potential overwroughtness.

    Despite the heartfelt sincerity at its core, "Friction Tape" is acknowledged to be hit and miss. However, Timco's evolution becomes evident on their subsequent album, "Gentleman Jim." With clearer studio sound and growing cohesion between Thomson, drummer Ethel M.D., and bassist John Wischmann, the band delves into more complex musical territory. The album's tension between temperamental poles is exemplified in tracks like "Louisiana" and "Marquis De Speed," showcasing a yin yang dynamic. Additionally, the album features unlisted jazz noir/car instrumentals, adding to its seductive allure.


    A1 My Dead Friends
    A2 A Pill
    A3 Love Locked
    B1 Franny
    B2 The Bastard
    B3 July