ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

Three Dog Night – American Pastime

Three Dog Night – American Pastime

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    Sold out
    Unit price
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Jun 02 and Jun 06. *ETA to USA Only

    American Pastime is the fourteenth and final album by American rock band Three Dog Night, released in March 1976. It is the only album in their discography not to feature the founding vocalists Chuck Negron, Cory Wells, and Danny Hutton, with Hutton being fired from the band in late 1975.

    The album's release coincided with a period of turmoil for the band, with members departing to pursue other projects. Michael Allsup and Floyd Sneed had left earlier to form SS Fools, with Joe Schermie, Stan Seymore, Wayne DeVillier, Bobby Kimball, and Jon Smith, without significant success. Jay Gruska replaced Hutton for "American Pastime."

    Despite the changes, the album maintained the band's signature blend of rock and pop. However, it sold poorly and failed to make a significant impact commercially. The lackluster reception, combined with internal strife, ultimately led to the breakup of Three Dog Night in August 1976.

    "Mellow Down," featuring Hutton on lead vocals, was recorded before his departure from the band and may have been an additional track from a previous album session.

    "American Pastime" did not achieve notable chart success, and its poor sales contributed to the dissolution of the band.


    A1 Everybody's A Masterpiece 2:45
    A2 Easy Evil 3:58
    A3 Billy The Kid 3:41
    A4 Mellow Down 3:00
    A5 Yellow Beach Umbrella 4:56
    B1 Hang On 4:18
    B2 Southbound 4:11
    B3 Drive On, Ride On 3:32
    B4 Dance The Night Away 4:41