ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

The Allman Brothers Band – Eat A Peach

The Allman Brothers Band – Eat A Peach

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    Sold out
    Unit price
    Unlock 10% off! Use code GEEK at checkout. | Ends:
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Jul 16 and Jul 20. *ETA to USA Only

    Eat a Peach is a 1972 double album by American rock band the Allman Brothers Band, containing a mix of live and studio recordings. Following their artistic and commercial breakthrough with the release of the live album At Fillmore East (1971), the Allman Brothers Band got to work on their third studio album. Many in the band were struggling, however, with heroin addictions, and checked into rehab to confront these problems. On October 29, 1971, group leader and founder Duane Allman was killed in a motorcycle accident in the band's hometown of Macon, Georgia, making it the final album to feature the guitarist. Produced by Tom Dowd, the album was released on February 12, 1972, in the United States by Capricorn Records. It was the band's fourth album since their debut The Allman Brothers Band in 1969, and is their third studio album and second live album. 

    Eat a Peach contains studio recordings from September–December 1971 at Criteria Studios, Miami—both with and without Duane Allman—and live recordings from the band's famed 1971 Fillmore East performances. The album contains the extended half-hour-long "Mountain Jam", which was long enough to take up two full sides of the original double-LP. Other highlights include vocalist Gregg Allman's performance of his brother's favorite song, "Melissa", plus Dickey Betts' "Blue Sky", which went on to become a classic rock radio staple. The album artwork was created by W. David Powell and J. F. Holmes at Wonder Graphics, and depicts the band's name on a peach truck, in addition to a large gatefold mural of mushrooms and fairies. The album's title came from a quote by Duane Allman: "You can't help the revolution, because there's just evolution ... Every time I'm in Georgia, I eat a peach for peace".

    On release Eat a Peach was an immediate commercial success and peaked at number four on Billboard's Top 200 Pop Albums chart. The album was later certified platinum and remains a top seller in the band's discography. 


    A1 Ain't Wastin' Time No More 3:40
    A2 Les Brers In A Minor 9:06
    A3 Melissa 3:57
    A4 One More Ride 2:46
    B1 Stand Back 3:26
    B2 Blue Sky 5:14
    B3 Little Martha 2:09
    B4 Dreams 4:55
    B5 Statesboro Blues 4:08
    Fillmore East 1971
    C1 Trouble No More 3:47
    C2 Mountain Jam #1 18:31
    Fillmore East 1971
    D1 Mountain Jam #2 15:15
    D2 One Way Out 5:01