ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

Stravinsky, Vol. 11: Violin Concerto; Ebony Concerto; The Flood

Stravinsky, Vol. 11: Violin Concerto; Ebony Concerto; The Flood

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    $12.99 You save 38%
    Unit price
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Apr 17 and Apr 21. *ETA to USA Only

    Stravinsky, Vol. 11: Violin Concerto; Ebony Concerto; The Flood is a classical music album that features compositions by the renowned Russian composer Igor Stravinsky. The album was released in 1993 and is part of a series of recordings that aim to provide a comprehensive collection of Stravinsky's works. 

    The album contains three pieces: the Violin Concerto in D Major, the Ebony Concerto, and The Flood. The Violin Concerto was composed in 1931 and is a neoclassical work that features Stravinsky's signature use of sharp rhythms and unexpected harmonic shifts. It is performed on the album by violinist Ilya Kaler and the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Antoni Wit.

    The Ebony Concerto was composed in 1945 and was originally written for jazz clarinetist Woody Herman and his orchestra. The piece is a fusion of classical and jazz styles, and features a prominent clarinet solo. On the album, the piece is performed by clarinetist Wojciech Mrozek and the same orchestra and conductor as the Violin Concerto.

    The Flood is a chamber opera that Stravinsky composed in 1962. The piece is based on the story of Noah's Ark, and features a libretto by Robert Craft. The album contains a suite from the opera, which features a smaller ensemble and vocalists. It is performed by the Philharmonia Orchestra and Chorus, under the direction of the composer himself.


    Violin Concerto (1931)

    1 I - Toccata
    2 II - Aria I
    3 III - Aria II
    4 IV - Capriccio
    Ebony Concerto (1945)

    5 I - Allegro Moderato
    6 II - Andante
    7 III - Moderato; Vivo; Coda
    8 Tango (1940, inst. 1953) 4:06
    Movements For Piano And Orchestra (1959)

    9 First Movements
    10 First Interlude And Second Movement
    11 Second Interlude And Third Movement
    12 Third Interlude And Fourth Movement
    13 Fourth Interlude And Fifth Movement
    Two Balmont Songs (1911, inst. 1954)

    14 Nezabudochka-Tsvetochek (The Flower)
    15 Golub (The Dove)

    16 Akahito
    17 Mazatsumi
    18 Tsaraiuki
    19 Sektanskaya (1919)

    The Flood (1962): A Musical Play (24:00)
    20 Prelude: Representation Of Chaos
    21 Te Deum, Sanctus
    22 Genesis
    23 Voices Of God
    24 Lucifer / Satan
    25 Melodrama
    26 Voices Of God, Noah
    27 The Building Of The Ark
    28 The Catalog Of The Animals
    29 The Comedy
    30 The Flood
    31 The Covenant Of The Rainbow
    32 Reprise Of Prelude
    33 Satan
    34 Sanctus, Te Deum