ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

Stravinsky The Composer: Volume IX - The Firebird

Stravinsky The Composer: Volume IX - The Firebird

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    Unit price
    10% off | Coupon Code: GEEK | Ends:
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Feb 02 and Feb 06. *ETA to USA Only

    The Firebird is a ballet and orchestral concert work by the Russian composer Igor Stravinsky. It was written for the 1910 Paris season of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes company; the original choreography was by Michel Fokine, who collaborated with Alexandre Benois on a scenario based on the Russian fairy tales of the Firebird and the blessing and curse it possesses for its owner. It was first performed at the Opéra de Paris on 25 June 1910 and was an immediate success, catapulting Stravinsky to international fame. Although designed as a work for the stage, with specific passages accompanying characters and action, the music achieved equal if not greater recognition as a concert piece.


    1 Fireworks (1908) - Fantasy For Large Orchestra 3:54
    The Firebird (1910) - Ballet In Two Scenes
    2 Introduction 2:30
    3 Kastchei's Enchanted Garden 1:40
    4 The Firebird Enters, Pursued By Ivan Tsarevich 2:16
    5 The Firebird's Dance 1:20
    6 Ivan Tsarevich Captures The Firebird 0:55
    7 The Firebird Begs To Be Released 5:26
    8 Entrance Of The Thirteen Enchanted Princesses 2:16
    9 The Princesses Play With The Golden Apples (Scherzo) 2:31
    10 Ivan Tsarevich Appears 0:58
    11 The Princesses' Khorovod (Round Dance) 5:36
    12 Daybreak 1:27
    13 Ivan Tsarevich, Entering Kastchei's Palace, Sets Off Its Magic Carillon, Thereby Alerting Kastchei's Monster-Guardians, Who Capture Him. 1:34
    14 The Entrance Of Kastchei The Immortal 1:08
    15 Dialogue Between Katschei And Ivan Tsarevich 1:03
    16 The Princesses Plead For Mercy 1:05
    17 The Firebird Enters 0:34
    18 Dance Of Kastchei's Retinue Under The Firebird's Magic Spell 0:49
    19 Infernal Dance Of Kastchei And His Subjects Under The Firebird's Magic Spell 4:38
    20 The Firebird's Lullaby 2:28
    21 Kastchei Awakens 1:08
    22 Kastchei's Death 1:20
    23 Kastchei's Spell Is Broken, His Palace Disappears, And The Petrified Knights Return To Life. General Thanksgiving. The Marriage And Coronation Of Prince Ivan As Tsar And The Princess Of Unearthly Beauty As Tsarina. 2:54
    24 Canon For Orchestra On A Popular Tune (1965) 0:26
    Four Etudes For Orchestra (1914, 1917; Orch. In 1928)
    25 Dance 0:51
    26 Eccentric 2:09
    27 Canticle 3:56
    28 Madrid 2:32
    29 Variations (1964) 5:43
    Concerto For Strings In D (1946)
    30 !. Vivace 5:51
    31 II. Arioso Andantino 2:40
    32 III. Rondo Allegro 3:34