ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

The Rolling Stones – Steel Wheels

The Rolling Stones – Steel Wheels

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    $5.99 You save 50%
    Unit price
    10% off | Coupon Code: GEEK | Ends:
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Feb 11 and Feb 15. *ETA to USA Only

    Steel Wheels is the 19th British (and 21st American) studio album by the English rock band the Rolling Stones. Released on 29 August 1989, it was the final album of new material that the band would record for Columbia Records.

    Hailed as a major comeback upon its release, Steel Wheels is notable for the patching up of the working relationship between Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, a reversion to a more classic style of music and the launching of the band's biggest world tour to date. It is also the final full-length studio album to involve long-time bassist Bill Wyman, preceding the announcement of his departure in January 1993. Wyman's final tenure with the band would be on two studio tracks for the 1991 album Flashpoint. Steel Wheels was also the first album not to feature former member and frequent contributor on piano Ian Stewart, who died shortly before the release of their previous album Dirty Work. It was produced by Richards and Jagger, along with Chris Kimsey, who had previously produced the Stones' 1983 Undercover.

    After the relative disappointment of their prior two albums, Steel Wheels was a hit, reaching multi-platinum status in the United States, Top 5 status in numerous markets around the world, and spawning two hit singles: "Mixed Emotions", which peaked at No. 1 in Canada and No. 5 in the United States, and "Rock and a Hard Place", the band's last Top-40 hit in the US. Critics were generally lukewarm towards the album, exemplified by Stephen Thomas Erlewine: "It doesn't make for a great Stones album, but it's not bad, and it feels like a comeback."


    1 Sad Sad Sad
    2 Mixed Emotions
    3 Terrifying
    4 Hold On To Your Hat
    5 Hearts For Sale
    6 Blinded By Love
    7 Rock And A Hard Place
    8 Can't Be Seen
    9 Almost Hear You Sigh
    10 Continental Drift
    11 Break The Spell
    12 Slipping Away