ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

Kansas – Vinyl Confessions

Kansas – Vinyl Confessions

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    Unit price
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Apr 17 and Apr 21. *ETA to USA Only

    Vinyl Confessions is the eighth studio album by American rock band Kansas, released on May 20, 1982. It includes the hit single "Play the Game Tonight," which broke into the Top 20 and stands as Kansas's third highest-charting single, surpassed only by "Carry on Wayward Son" and "Dust in the Wind." The album marked a significant turning point for the band, as both guitarist/keyboard player Kerry Livgren and bass player Dave Hope converted to Christianity, leading to a shift in the band's lyrical focus. This change in direction led to the departure of lead singer Steve Walsh, who disagreed with the new direction and went on to form his own band, Streets. After a thorough audition process, John Elefante was chosen as the new lead singer.

    "Vinyl Confessions" features songs with strong religious themes, such as "Fair Exchange," which describes a world under the rule of the Anti-Christ, and "Diamonds and Pearls," which emphasizes spiritual wealth over financial wealth. The album also attracted attention from the Contemporary Christian music (CCM) industry, with many Christian magazines praising Kansas' new musical direction. "Vinyl Confessions" was even chosen as the No. 1 CCM album of 1982 by CCM Magazine. However, tensions within the band continued, eventually leading to the departure of violinist/vocalist Robby Steinhardt after the supporting tour.


    A1 Play The Game Tonight 3:24
    A2 Right Away 4:03
    A3 Fair Exchange 4:56
    A4 Chasing Shadows 3:17
    A5 Diamonds And Pearls 4:47
    B1 Face It 4:15
    B2 Windows 3:29
    B3 Borderline 3:57
    B4 Play On 3:30
    B5 Crossfire 6:33