ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

En Vogue - Born To Sing

En Vogue - Born To Sing

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    $3.99 You save 50%
    Unit price
    10% off | Coupon Code: GEEK | Ends:
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Apr 02 and Apr 06. *ETA to USA Only

    Born to Sing is the debut studio album by American vocal group En Vogue. It was released by Atlantic Records on April 3, 1990 in the United States. Conceived after their contribution to band founders Denzil Foster and Thomas McElroy's 1988 compilation project FM2 for Atlantic, it was chiefly produced by Foster and McElroy, with additional contribution coming from Hughie Prince, Don Raye, and former The Independents members Marvin Yancy and Chuck Jackson. Musically, Born to Sing contains a range of contemporary genres, blending a mix of soft hip hop soul, pop, contemporary early-1990s R&B, rap, and new jack swing.

    Upon release, the album received generally positive reviews from music critics, who complimented the band's vocal performances and their commercial appeal as well as Foster and McElroy's modern production. It became a commercial success as well. While initial sales were slow, the album reached the top thirty of the US Billboard 200 and was certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA), selling over 1.7 million copies in the United States. Born to Sing experienced similar success in the United Kingdom and Canada, where it was certified silver and gold respectively.

    The album produced four major single releases, including "Lies", "You Don't Have to Worry", and their debut song "Hold On", all of which peaked to number-one on Billboard's Hot R&B Songs chart. At the 33rd Annual Grammy Awards, the full album earned a nomination in the Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals category. Born to Sing also garnered a Best R&B/Soul Album – Group, Band or Duo at the 1991 Soul Train Music Awards, while "Hold On" received the award in the Best R&B/Soul Album – Group, Band or Duo category, and won the Billboard Music Award for Top R&B Single.


    1 Party 1:10
    2 Strange 4:39
    3 Lies
    4 Hip Hop Bugle Boy 0:54
    5 Hold On 5:03
    6 Part Of Me 5:58
    7 You Don't Have To Worry 3:47
    8 Time Goes On 5:05
    9 Just Can't Stay Away 5:10
    10 Don't Go 5:45
    11 Luv Lines 4:04
    Bonus Track
    12 Waitin' On You 5:08