ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

Elvis Costello & Allen Toussaint – The River In Reverse

Elvis Costello & Allen Toussaint – The River In Reverse

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    $11.99 You save 33%
    Unit price
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Jun 02 and Jun 06. *ETA to USA Only

    The River In Reverse is a collaborative album by British singer-songwriter Elvis Costello and American musician Allen Toussaint. Released on May 29, 2006, the album combines elements of rock, rhythm and blues, and New Orleans-style jazz. It serves as a tribute to the city of New Orleans and its musical heritage, reflecting the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, which struck the city in 2005.

    The album features a collection of songs written by Toussaint, along with a few Costello originals and covers of classic New Orleans tracks. Toussaint's piano and horn arrangements are prominent throughout, complementing Costello's distinctive vocals and guitar work. The lyrics touch upon themes of loss, resilience, and the need for social and political change.

    "The River In Reverse" received critical acclaim and achieved moderate success on the Billboard charts. It debuted at number five on the Billboard 200 chart, making it Costello's highest-charting album in the United States at the time. It also reached number two on the Billboard Top Rock Albums chart and number one on the Billboard Top Blues Albums chart.

    The lead single from the album, "Ascension Day," received moderate airplay and peaked at number 36 on the Billboard Adult Alternative Songs chart. Despite not yielding any major hit singles, the album's critical success and steady sales demonstrated its impact and resonated with fans of both Costello and Toussaint's work.


    1 On Your Way Down 4:53
    2 Nearer To You 3:30
    3 Tears, Tears And More Tears 3:26
    4 The Sharpest Thorn 4:16
    5 Who's Gonna Help Brother Get Further? 5:04
    6 The River In Reverse 4:30
    7 Freedom For The Stallion 2:55
    8 Broken Promise Land 4:33
    9 Ascension Day 2:58
    10 International Echo 4:58
    11 All These Things 4:05
    12 Wonder Woman 3:08
    13 Six-Fingered Man 4:32