ALL IMAGES ARE SAMPLE IMAGES unless noted. Please read item description on each listing for condition and notes.

Dokken – Dysfunctional

Dokken – Dysfunctional

  • Sale price
    Regular price
    Sold out
    Unit price
    10% off | Coupon Code: GEEK | Ends:
    Shipping calculated at checkout.


    Estimated Arrival: Between Feb 01 and Feb 05. *ETA to USA Only

    Dysfunctional is the fifth studio album by heavy metal band Dokken, released in 1995. It was the band's first release after reuniting in 1993.

    Originally intended to be a Don Dokken solo album, it morphed into a Dokken album when guitarist George Lynch was brought back into the fold, with Jeff Pilson and Mick Brown already on board. The original album was produced for the Japanese market and released there in December 1994 on JVC/Victor, simply titled Dokken. When Sony Music signed the band to the label internationally, the album was remixed and three additional songs recorded, "Hole In My Head", a cover of Emerson, Lake & Palmer's "From the Beginning", and "If the Good Die Young" (the bonus track on the Japanese version). This last song is a heavily re-worked new version of the song "Snake Eyes", which Jeff Pilson had recorded with his post-Dokken band, Flesh & Blood (eventually re-named War & Peace). "Snake Eyes" was finally released as part of the War & Peace - The Flesh and Blood Sessions album in 1999.

    Although Dysfunctional entered the chart respectably at No. 47 at a time when 1980s hard rock and heavy metal had largely declined, sales quickly dropped off and were not enough to reach gold RIAA certification. In a later interview, Don Dokken revealed that the album had sold 500,000 copies in America and was officially certified gold.

    The song "Too High to Fly" was released as a promo single from the album and was a minor hit. It is one of the post 80s Dokken songs that is played live on a consistent basis.


    1 Inside Looking Out
    2 Hole In My Head
    3 The Maze
    4 Too High To Fly
    5 Nothing Left To Say
    6 Shadows Of Life
    7 Long Way Home
    8 Sweet Chains
    9 Lesser of Two Evils
    10 What Price
    11 From The Beginning